Was this page useful?

*Required Field

SJHH / About/ Medical Staff Association/ Our Executive Team

Our Executive Team

Dr. Rahima Nenshi, President

Dr. Nenshi is an Associate Professor of Surgery at McMaster University in the Division of General Surgery. She completed her medical degree at the Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine at McMaster University. She then went on to complete a Master’s in Clinical Epidemiology & Biostatistics in 2009, her General Surgery Residency in 2011, a Minimally Invasive Surgery Fellowship in 2012, as well as a Surgical Oncology Fellowship in 2014 at the University of Toronto. Dr. Nenshi’s clinical area of interest is in minimally invasive surgery and acute care surgery; She is the director of Acute Care Surgery at St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton (SJHH). Dr. Nenshi is also currently the director of postgraduate education at SJHH, the academic lead for the division of perioperative medicine, co-chair of the city-wide Credentials committee, and a member of the CANUCS executive. She is involved in local and national research in the fields of acute care surgery and peri-operative surgery, acting as co-PI on trials in acute care surgery, remote monitoring and virtual post operative patient care.

Dr. Khurram Khan, Vice-President

Dr. Khan is Gastroenterologist with interests in Inflammatory bowel disease, therapeutic endoscopy, and epidemiology of disease. He is proud to serve the patients of St Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton since 2010. In the GI division, he leads the way as the division head and enjoys teaching endoscopy, organizing CME for physicians, and doing epidemiological research and clinical trials. He is a graduate of Western University's School of Medicine and Internal Medicine program. He completed a GI residency at McMaster University. He has also completed fellowships in IBD research, MSc in Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics, and additional training in advanced endoscopy.

Dr. Nalin Amin, Secretary-Treasurer

Dr. Amin is an Associate Professor in the Department of Surgery at McMaster University. After completing his medical degree and family medicine residency at the University of Manitoba, he subsequently completed a General Surgery residency at McMaster University and a Minimally Invasive and Bariatric Fellowship in New York. He then started his clinical and academic practice at McMaster University in 2008.

His clinical practice is currently in Minimally Invasive General Surgery with a clinical focus on Minimally Invasive approaches to colorectal resections, gastrectomies, splenectomies, hernia repairs and other general surgical procedures. He was previously the Surgical Foundations Program Director from 2009-2021, the Fundamentals of Laparoscopic Surgery lead for Hamilton from 2012 to 2020, and sat on the Royal College Surgical Foundations Advisory Committee from 2009 to 2021 and the McMaster University Continuing Health Sciences Education Advisory Committee. He was the recipient of the Steeltown Scalpel award for excellence in residency education for 2012 and 2016 and the Ted Thomas award for lifelong contributions to education in general surgery in 2020.

Dr. Waël Hanna, Past President

As a thoracic surgeon, Dr. Hanna treats all surgical conditions of the chest, including lung cancer, esophageal cancer, chest wall tumors, hyperhidrosis, and others. He helps patients understand the complexities of major operations and supports them through these life-changing events. He is Canada’s leader in the field of robotic thoracic surgery and has pioneered several operations with this most cutting edge surgical technology. Beyond technical excellence, Dr. Hanna continues to invest himself in research and innovation, and leads a team of scientists who work continuously to develop and evaluate advancements in the field of thoracic surgery.