Was this page useful?

*Required Field

SJHH / About/ Medical Staff Association/ Our Executive Team

Our Executive Team

Dr. Matthew Miller, President

Dr. Matthew Miller is a nephrologist at St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton. He has an interest in medical education, having completed his MSc Health Science Education at McMaster University and is the renal subunit planner for the McMaster University School of Medicine. He practices general nephrology and is the Medical Lead for the Living Kidney Donor Program at St. Joseph’s.

Dr. Zain Chagla, Vice-President

Dr. Chagla completed his MD at Queen’s University, his Internal Medicine residency at Western University, and his ID fellowship at McMaster, as well as his Masters and Diploma in Tropical Medicine at The London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. He currently is an ID Consultant, Associate Professor in the Department of Medicine, a Lecturer in the School of Global Health, a Visiting Professor at the University of Namibia, and Medical Director of Infection Control at St. Joseph’s Healthcare. He has interests in Global Health, Infections in Immunocompromised Hosts, and Health Policy.

Dr. Wael Hanna, Secretary-Treasurer

As a thoracic surgeon, Dr. Hanna treats all surgical conditions of the chest, including lung cancer, esophageal cancer, chest wall tumors, hyperhidrosis, and others. He helps patients understand the complexities of major operations and supports them through these life-changing events. He is Canada’s leader in the field of robotic thoracic surgery and has pioneered several operations with this most cutting edge surgical technology. Beyond technical excellence, Dr. Hanna continues to invest himself in research and innovation, and leads a team of scientists who work continuously to develop and evaluate advancements in the field of thoracic surgery.

Jill Spademan, Admin

Jill provides administrative assistance to the Medical Staff Association at St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton. In this role, she has had the opportunity to provide administrative support to the Medical Staff Executive Committee whose mandate is to represent the best interests of the Medical Staff Association membership at St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton.

Dr. Nina Ahuja, Past President

Dr. Ahuja has been a staff ophthalmologist in the SJHH Department of Eye Medicine & Surgery since 2003. She has held various clinical and academic leadership positions over the years, and is founder of Docs in Leadership Inc., an organization established to deliver physician leadership education. An Associate Clinical Professor in the Department of Surgery at McMaster University, Dr. Ahuja has been actively involved in residency education with a special interest in surgical teaching. She is currently Division Head for Ophthalmology, and an examiner for the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.